International Exchange



International exchange promotion activities among ASEAN countries are started by the 21st century COE program from 2006 through establishing the Asian academic network named SEE Forum (Sustainable Energy and Environment Forum). In this line, we will have the 8th International Conference on Sustainable Energy and Environment in October organized by Graduate School of Energy and Environment in Thailand. In Thailand we have also been having the Eco-Energy and Materials Science and Engineering Symposium (EMSES) in almost every year in cooperation with Rajamangala University of Technology Thanyaburi since 2001. In 2020, 15th EMSES will be held in Thailand. These international activities among ASEAN region have been appreciated by many the counterpart universities, research institute in Asia, Japanese government and UNESCO. In this connection we have cooperated with UNESCO COMPETENCE program from 2009. As the extension of this project we have started the ODA-UNESCO Assist program on Energy for Sustainable Development in Asia (Vietnam in 2011, Laos in 2012, Cambodia in 2013, and Myanmar in 2014, In 2017, UNESCO selected Kyoto University as "UNESCO chair" in the field of water, energy, and disaster prevention. In 2015, the Japan ASEAN Science and Technology Innovation Platform (JASTIP) has been adopted in JST SICORP and we have been promoting the international collaboration research between Japan and ASEAN. In education activity, based on the MOU between Kyoto University and AUN which was initiated IAE activities, the AUN ‒ KU Student Mobility Program towards Human Security Development (HSD) has been selected to accelerate internationalization of university in 2012. So far many sending/invitation programs have been operated with JST, JSPS, Kyoto University funds. From 2019, we have started the JSPS Core-to-Core program in cooperation with Institute for Chemical Research and The Institute of Scientific and Industrial Research, Osaka University. We also launched the JST e-Asia Joint Research Program lead by Research Institute for Sustainable Humanosphere with Thailand, Indonesia, and Laos.


JSPS Core-to-Core Program, B. Asia-Africa Science Platforms (JSPS)

To advanced utilization of abundant natural resources in emerging Asian countries, we (Institute of Advanced Energy, Institute for Chemical Research, and The Institute of Scientific and Industrial Research, Osaka University) aim to form a research exchange platform based on our advanced analytical technologies. In this project, we will collaborate with Indonesia, Myanmar, Mongolia, Philippines, Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos to improve their analytical skills and promote collaboration research.


List of International Agreements

Date signedName of InstituteCountry
Oct. 30. 2019 International Joint Research Laboratory of Magnetic Confinement Fusion and Plasma Physics (IFPP), Huazhong University of Science and Technology China
Oct. 21. 2019 Center for Fusion Science, Southwestern Institute of Physics China
June 19. 2019 Faculty of Engineering, National University of Laos Lao
Mar. 22. 2019 The National Fusion Research Institute, The Republic of Korea Korea
Feb. 15. 2019 The Institute of Fusion Science, Southwest Jiaotong University China
Jan. 8. 2019 Max-Planck-Institut fuer Plasmaphysik Germany
Jul. 7. 2016 University of California, Santa Barbara U.S.A.
Jun. 15. 2016 Center for Science and Technology of Advanced Materials, Indonesia National Nuclear Energy Agency-Batan Indonesia
Dec. 3. 2014 Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology (UNIST),
Fusion Plasma Stability and Confinement Research Center (FPSCRC)
Oct. 6. 2014 Horia Hulubei National Institute of Physics and Nuclear engineering, Romania Romania
Sep. 18. 2014 Center for Advanced Material & Energy Sciences, University Brunei Darussalam Brunei Darussalam
Mar. 20. 2013 Korea Atomic Energy Research Institute Korea
Jan. 23. 2013 Fusion Plasma Transport Research Center, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology Korea
Apr. 12. 2012 Nano and Energy Center, Vietnam National University, Hanoi Viet Nam
May. 18. 2010 City University of New York U.S.A.
Oct. 19. 2009 The Joint Graduate Scholl of Energy and Environment of King Mongkut's University of Technology Thonburi Thailand
Feb. 20. 2009 Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL) U.S.A.
Nov. 28. 2006 The Institute of Industrial Science and Technology, College of Engineering, Pukyong National University Korea
Apr. 6. 2006 The National Fusion Research Center (NFRC) Korea
Jul. 24. 2001 Department of Materials Science and Engineering of the University of Erlangen-Nurnberg Germany
May. 16. 2001 Centro de Investigaciones Energticas, Medioambientales y Tecnolgicas (CIEMAT) Spain
Feb. 5. 2001 Rajamangala University of Technogy Thailand
Jan. 25. 2001 Slovak University of Technology (Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology) Slovakia
Jan. 9. 2001 University of Sydney (School of Physics) Australia
Sep. 10. 2000 Korea Basic Science Institute Korea
Jul. 4. 2000 Faculty of Engineering, Dong-Eui University Korea
May. 7. 1999 Dong-Eui University (Industry-University Cooperation Center)
Aug. 1. 1998 Politecnico di Torino (Materials Science and Chemical Engineering Department) Italy
May. 11. 1998 National Science Center (Institute of Plasma Physics, Kharkov Institute of Physics and Technogy) Ukraine
Feb. 06. 1998 University of Wisconsin-Madison (Torsatron/Stellarator Laboratory) U.S.A.
Aug. 10. 1997 Australian National University (Plasma Research Laboratory) Australia
Mar. 10. 1997 University of Science and Technogy Beijing (Institute of Materials Failure) China
Dec. 12. 1996 The Flinders University of South Australia Australia
Nov. 20. 1996 Stanford University (The Stanford Free Electron Laser Center at the Hansen Experimental Physics Laboratory) U.S.A.
Nov. 19. 1996 University of California (Center for Beam Physics, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory) U.S.A.
Jun. 4. 1996 China Institute of Atomic Erergy China
Jun. 3. 1996 Academia Sinica (Institute of High Energy Physics) China
Nov. 6. 1995 Southwestern Institute of Physics China
Oct. 3. 1995 University of Illinois (Fusion Studies Laboratory) U.S.A.
Oct. 6. 1995 Russian Research Center, ''Kurchatov Institute''
Russian Federation
Sep. 29. 1995 University of Wisconsin (Fusion Technology Institute) U.S.A.
  • 京都大学研究連携基盤
  • 国立大学附置研究所・センター長会議
  • 京都大学宇治キャンパス
  • 刊行物
  • 所内限定ページ
  • 京都大学